Native Foods: PURE UTOPIA!

Native Foods: Westwood Village

First thing I said to myself after dining at Native Foods today.. WHY did it take me so long to get to you??! This place is one of the best vegan places I’ve eaten.. It is so GOOD! They have a few locations in LA, and today me and my mom dined at the Westwood

Asian Lettuce Wraps

location. I Loved

Classic Deli Reuben: YUM!

the area it is located in, very village like..lots of shops and college students ( ucla is right there). You order at the front and then have a seat and the food is brought out to you in a jiffy ( REALLY, I have never gotten food that fast anywhere) They have a HUGE menu

Reuben

with fantastic appetizers, homemade soups, Sandwiches, Burgers, Salads, Wraps, and Killer desserts! The staff was SO helpful and sweet to! We tried a few things and were spot on ! For our appetizer we got “Asian Lettuce Wraps” ($7.95) Lettuce Cups filled

Broccoli Curry Crunch!

with a Stir Fry of Original Seitan, Mushrooms, Jicama, Garlic and Ginger, Topped with Crispy Rice Noodles Served with a Spicy Garlic Soy Sauce on the side. I LOVE lettuce wraps, but never find “vegan stuff” in them! I loved that they had the homemade fresh seitan and the crunchy rice noodles.. this is one of my favorite appetizers! mhmm! For the first entree we split the “ Classic Deli Reuben($9.95) Thinly Sliced, Deli Style Native Reuben Seitan piled high on Grilled Marble Rye.

Potato Salad

Topped with Homemade Sauerkraut, Horseradish Cheese and a Slather of Russian Dressing. Good Goodness this sandwich was luscious. I mean the word slather in the menu description totally sells me.. I think this is my all time favorite reuben. SO much

Blueberry Cheesecake

“meat” on the sandwich with all the crunchy sauerkraut and the succulent dressing. WOW. really people GO EAT! We also split the “ Broccoli Curry Crunch Salad” (8.95) Fresh Broccoli, Cashews, Cranberries, and Chopped Native Original Seitan, all

Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake!

tossed in a savory Curry Dressing atop Romaine lettuce with Fresh Apples and a Citrus Ginger Vinaigrette. I know- SO many amazing ingredients, and let me tell you when they come together, they rock it. I love curry and this salad did it for me!! It was true to it’s name . perfect balance of curry, broccoli, and that lovely crunch! I adore this salad… yes adore.. For the sake of trying things we also got a side of ” Potato Salad ($1.95) Fresh Chunks of Potatoes, flavored with Lemon and Dill. Glad we picked this as a side. The potatoes were chunky and soft and the flavors just popped out.. a great little side or a snack!! Now onto dessert! Cheesecake seemed to be out ‘thing’ for today so we got two pieces of different cheesecakes and split! “Blueberry Cheesecake” (2.95) A rich Cream Cheese filing, Ginger Granola Crust, Served with Blueberries. Im not a huge ‘cheesecake’ person, but this one was delicious. I loved the Crust ..perfectly crunchy and those fresh blueberries just had me! The second cheesecake was ” Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake ($2.95) Fresh CheeseCake with Pecan Caramel and Chocolate Chips Swirled in a Chocolate Cookie Crust. Another amazing hit for the mouth! The chocolate was lovely and sweet but not overwhelming.. They certainly know what their doing in the kitchen at Native Foods. You can be guaranteed that I will BE BACK! again..and again.. Keep it healthy!

Peace, Love, and Vegan Food,

Kris

Native Foods:

1110 Gayley Ave.

Los Angeles CA.

310.209.1055

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Native Foods: Just Can’t Get Enough!! « There is no sincerer love than the love of food."

Leave a Reply

